Skip to content

Alaska Chamber Announces Top Business Awards Winners

Anchorage, AK – This years recipients for the William A. Egan Alaskan of The Year, Bill Bivin Small Business of The Year, and Local Chamber of Commerce of The Year were announced Tuesday, October 15th at the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce annual conference in Fairbanks, Alaska. In addition to the annual awards, the prestigious North Star Award was presented. 
Margy Johnson is the recipient of the 2013 William A. Egan Alaskan of The Year award. The celebrated and prestigious William A. Egan award is presented to individuals who have made substantial and continual contributions of statewide significance while working in the private sector.
Johnson was the first woman elected chairman of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce, bringing all her energy and imagination to the job of expanding the organization and helping Alaska businesses see the value of joining together to represent their interests to state and local governing bodies, and to strengthen local ties.
Johnson also served as the Oncology Marketing Coordinator for the Providence Cancer Center. Using her position to become an “ambassador” for the center, Johnson brought a message of hope to patients and often hosted a “tea” (she’s known for them) in her home, putting patients at ease while letting them know all the resources available to them.
Madden Real Estate is the Bill Bivin Small Business of The Year Award recipient. The Bill Bivin Small Business of The Year Award, established in 1993, pays tribute to businesses that exemplify leadership, ethics and organization. Madden Real Estate opened its doors in 2009 and has less than 30 employees. In the less than 5 years it has been in business, it has established itself as a leader in its industry in Alaska. Madden Real Estate practices what it preaches and is an active participant in its local chamber, and its local trade association, advocating for good business policies. The owner and its employees volunteer for American Heart Association events, sponsors toy drives and athletes (sometimes with a GPA requirement) and encourages its employees to serve in the community.
The Chugiak-Eagle River Chamber of Commerce is the recipient of the 2013 Local Chamber of Commerce of The Year award. The award recognizes the consistent community involvement and excellent business reputation. The Chugiak-Eagle River Chamber hosts one of the largest community events in Alaska, the Bear Paw Festival, and serves as the de-facto visitor center for the Chugiak/Eagle River area, providing practical business support to its members and is a powerful force advocating for the community before local, state and federal governments.
When the situation warrants it, the Alaska Chamber awards a North Star Award to an individual or organization in Alaska, who through a special project, action, or concern, developed or pursued the endeavor for the betterment of all Alaska residents. These individuals or organizations provide a significant contribution to the future of the Great State of Alaska.
Carl Portman was awarded the North Star Award this evening reflecting his lifetime of service and thousands of outstanding tasks performed to support economic growth in our state. He has devoted his life to environmental protection and responsible economic development in Alaska and has worked for over 30 years to ensure Alaska’s resources were developed in a manner consistent with our Constitution’s mandate of maximum use consistent with the public interest.


Scroll To Top