Skip to content

Alaska Chamber announces winners of 2017 top business awards

Sikta, AK — The recipients for the William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year, Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year, and the Local Chamber of Commerce of the Year were announced on Wednesday, October 11 at the Alaska Chamber’s annual Top Business Awards Gala in Sitka, Alaska. In addition to the annual top three business awards, the Chamber assigned several special recognitions, including the North Star Award.

William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year
Joe Beedle received the celebrated and prestigious William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year award. The award is presented to individuals who have made substantial and continual contributions of statewide significance while working in the private sector.

Beedle is a lifelong Alaskan from Juneau, serving as Chairman, President and CEO for Northrim BanCorp, Inc. His readiness to engage on important topics extends beyond his 30-year professional career. He is a steady, reassuring presence on boards and commissions and a tireless advocate for Alaskans and a strong Alaska economy. 

Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year
Denali Brewing Company and owner Sassan Mossanen received the Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year award. Established in 1993, the award pays tribute to businesses that exemplify leadership, ethics, and organization.

Denali Brewing’s incredible growth is fueled by Mossanen’s passion for quality workmanship, clear communication and community involvement — personal traits that are reflected throughout the company. Denali Brewing is a model of the determination and sound judgment that drives Alaska’s successful small companies.

Local Chamber of Commerce of the Year
The Greater Sitka Chamber of Commerce received the Local Chamber of Commerce of the Year award. The award recognizes consistent community involvement and excellent business reputation.

The Sitka Chamber excels at the traditional training, networking and seasonal events that communities rely on chambers to perform. Additionally, the organization takes a direct, hands-on roll in growing visitation and the tourism engine that drives the city economy.

North Star Award
The Chamber presents the North Star Award to an individual or organization in Alaska who actively develops and pursues the betterment of all Alaska residents. These individuals and organizations provide significant contributions to the future of the Great State of Alaska.

The 2017 North Star was awarded posthumously to Dan Fauske in celebration of his lifetime of service to Alaska throughout our state. Fauske served as the Chief Financial Officer and Chief Administrative Officer for Alaska’s North Slope Borough before leading the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation and the Alaska Gasoline Development Corporations. Fauske passed away this spring in April and will be sorely missed. 

Chairman’s Award
Caroline Higgins received the inaugural Chairman’s Award, an acknowledgment of her steadfast and valued service to the Chamber.

Higgins revitalized the Chamber in her time as Chair in 2009 and 2010. She is an experienced, insightful, and a welcome presence at all levels of Chamber activity.

Please join the statewide members of the Chamber in recognizing each of the 2017 top business award winners.


About the Alaska Chamber
The Alaska Chamber, a private, non-profit corporation, operating since 1953, works to promote a positive business environment in Alaska. The Chamber is the voice of small and large business representing hundreds of enterprises, manufactures and local chambers from across Alaska. Our member companies employ over 100,000 hard-working Alaskans. View a list of our current priorities and positions here.

Scroll To Top