Skip to content

Alaska Congressional Delegation joins business community in Kenai for the Alaska Chamber Fall Forum

Kenai, AK – Members of the Alaska Chamber will convene this week in Kenai, Alaska for the annual Alaska Chamber Conference, Top Business Awards and Policy Forum.

Attendees will meet for three days to discuss the business issues at play in Alaska. This year, a delegation of trade partners from the Puget Sound region will join Alaska’s business leaders to illuminate a path forward for the state.

“We know that the ports, producers and consumers of the Pacific Northwest play a foundational role in Alaska’s economic health,” said Curtis W. Thayer, president and CEO of the Alaska Chamber. “I feel it’s important to have their input and participation as we restructure government to fit our public revenue realities.”

In addition to industry specific updates, former Governors Sheffield and Parnell will discuss public policy during previous periods of economic decline in Alaska. Marianne Kah, Chief Economist at ConocoPhillips, will deliver the keynote address on Wednesday, followed by an address from Governor Bill Walker.

Also participating in the events in Kenai are Senators Lisa Murkowski and Dan Sullivan, and Congressman Don Young.

“Our national officials have always been valuable participants at our conference,” said Thayer. “We’re looking forward to having all three with us in person this year, and particularly to a keynote address from our senior senator, Lisa Murkowski on Thursday.”

On Wednesday evening, the Chamber will bestow three awards on individuals and businesses for enduring contributions made to our statewide economy.

  • William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year
  • Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year
  • Local Chamber of Commerce of the Year
The Chamber will formally announce this year’s award recipients on Wednesday, October 12 following the 2016 Top Business Awards.

About the Alaska Chamber
The Alaska Chamber, a private, non-profit corporation, operating since 1952, works to promote a positive business environment in Alaska. The Alaska Chamber is the voice of small and large business across the state with a Board of Directors comprised of 80 members representing all regions of the state. For more information visit

Scroll To Top