Skip to content

Statement from the Alaska Chamber on AEC founding meeting

Anchorage, AK – After working collaboratively with the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission (AAPC) Co-Chairs to select three Alaska business leaders to participate in an initial meeting of the Arctic Economic Council (AEC), the Alaska Chamber is pleased to learn of AEC’s successful founding meeting held on September 2-3 in Iqaluit, Nunavut.

“The Chamber supports sustainable, environmentally conscience economic growth in Alaska,” said Rachael Petro, Alaska Chamber President/CEO. “With Alaska’s economic prosperity so intricately connected with the Arctic the opportunity to participate globally in the AEC is not just an distinction, it’s imperative to Alaska’s future,” Petro added.

About the AEC
The AEC consists of 42 business representatives appointed by the Arctic states and indigenous organizations. The AEC has selected a small inaugural Executive Committee to guide its initial work to be lead by the chair Tom Paddon from Canada, vice chairs Tero Vauraste from Finland, Tara Sweeney from the United States who represents the Inuit Circumpolar Council, and Evgeny Ambrosov from Russia. Initial administrative support for the AEC is being provided by Canada, and an offer by the Norwegian business community to support the AEC’s administrative costs going forward was accepted in principle.

About the Alaska Chamber
The Alaska Chamber, a private, non-profit corporation, operating since 1952, works to promote a positive business environment in Alaska. The Alaska Chamber is the voice of small and large business across the state with a Board of Directors comprised of 80 members representing all regions of the state. For more information visit


Associated Link:

AEC Contact:
Anja Jeffrey, Assistant to the chair of the AEC,

Alaska Chamber Contact:
Brandy Dixon, Communications & Events Director,

Scroll To Top